Forum

An industry conference of seminars, panel discussions,
masterclasses and networking opportunities.

Doc Edge Forum is an annual industry conference that brings together local and international film, television and interactive media professionals, practitioners and stakeholders. The Forum offers a curated selection of seminars, panel discussions, masterclasses and networking opportunities. It also incorporates Doc Edge Pitch, a documentary pitching forum for shorts, features and television series.

The 2020 Forum, including Doc Edge Pitch and Date-a-Doco, will be presented online. Check out all guest information here.

FORUM PROGRAMME

The Forum runs for a total of 4 days from 29 May to 1 June. Registration is open to anyone around the world.

New Zealand Times
09:00
International Times

07:00 AEDT
05:00 CST
21:00 UTC (-1)
17:00 ECT (-1)
14:00 PDT (-1)

WELCOME

Alex Lee
Dan Shanan

Doc Edge Directors Alex and Dan welcome you to this year’s Doc Edge Forum Online.

New Zealand Times
09:20
International Times

07:20 AEDT
05:20 CST
21:20 UTC (-1)
17:20 ECT (-1)
14:20 PDT (-1)

STATE OF THE NATION

Annabelle Sheehan, NZFC
Cameron Harland, NZOA

 

When we finished listening to Annabelle Sheehan and Amie Mills in this session last year, we immediately added it to this year’s programme. We thought it would be great to follow-up on some of the issues raised.

For obvious reasons, a lot of those issues are now moot, or at least not at the top of the agenda. Annabelle and Cameron Harland now stand in a very different media landscape, and will share their views on how we might advance through it.

New Zealand Times
10:20

BREAK

Stretch your legs, take a quick trip to the kitchen or the bathroom (wash your hands!) and settle back in for the morning’s final session.

New Zealand Times
10:30
International Times

08:30 AEDT
06:00 CST
22:30 UTC (-1)
18:30 ECT (-1)
15:30 PDT (-1)

KAPOW!

Pamela Yates (US)
Erin Sorensen (US)
Jie-Ming Chung
(UK)
Host: Catherine Chan (HK)

At a time when the C-word dominates almost every conversation and news report, getting attention has become a much more difficult task.

Hear from three impact producers about the strategies and tactics they’re employing to achieve cut-through and drive activity and action in 2020.

New Zealand Times
11:30

CLOSE

One day down, three more to go. See you shortly in our Zoom Lounge, or same time tomorrow

New Zealand Times
09:00
International Times

07:00 AEDT
05:00 CST
21:00 UTC (-1)
17:00 ECT (-1)
14:00 PDT (-1)

WELCOME

A quick bit of housekeeping to start the day. Take your seats and settle in for three fabulous sessions.

New Zealand Times
09:05
International Times

07:05 AEDT
05:05 CST
21:05 UTC (-1)
17:05 ECT (-1)
14:05 PDT (-1)

FOR YOUR CONSIDERATION

Tom Oyer (US), Associate Director, Member Relations and Awards, Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

At the top of the awards heap and the closing event of awards season, the Academy Awards are as good as it gets for peer recognition.

Tom Oyer manages the Academy’s short film and documentary award categories.

Enjoy what he has to say and then ask him questions.

New Zealand Times
09:50

BREAK

Stretch your legs, take a quick trip to the kitchen or the bathroom (wash your hands!) and settle back in for the morning’s final session.

New Zealand Times
09:55
International Times

07:55 AEDT
05:55 CST
21:55 UTC (-1)
17:55 ECT (-1)
14:55 PDT (-1)

WELL-BEING

Yonatan Nir (IL), Filmmaker, Picture of His Life
Prash Naik (AU/UK), Lawyer

There are many ways to be well – financially, legally, physically and mentally among them.

Grab some smarts from our panel of experts as they share some of the must-haves and must-nots of ending the day in just as good shape as you started it.

New Zealand Times
10:55

BREAK

Stretch your legs, take a quick trip to the kitchen or the bathroom (wash your hands!) and settle back in for the morning’s final session.

New Zealand Times
11:00
International Times

09:00 AEDT
07:00 CST
23:00 UTC (-1)
19:00 ECT (-1)
16:00 PDT (-1)

SMALL IS GOOD

Naashon Zalk (NZ), Filmmaker
Jeff Shen (NZ)

The ups and downs, ins and out, and pros and cons of being as light on your feet as it gets in production.

Award-winning documentary director and cinematographer Naashon Zalk talks how to create high-quality content when your phone is your camera.

New Zealand Times
11:45

CLOSE

Two days down, two more to go. See you shortly in our Zoom Lounge, or same time tomorrow.

New Zealand Times
09:00
International Times

07:00 AEDT
05:00 CST
21:00 UTC (-1)
17:00 ECT (-1)
14:00 PDT (-1)

WELCOME

Housekeeping, coffee, take you seats and settle in for three fabulous  sessions.

New Zealand Times
09:05
International Times

07:05 AEDT
05:05 CST
21:05 UTC (-1)
17:05 ECT (-1)
14:05 PDT (-1)

EYES ON STALKS OR BUMS ON SEATS?

Andy Whittaker (UK), Dogwoof
Kate Townsend (UK), Netflix
Paul Wiegard (AU), Madman
Host: Jasmin McSweeney (NZ), NZFC

We’re all expected to embrace disruption, but who actually loved Universal’s announcement it would put out all its new releases day and date when we can go back to the cinema?

Our panel shares its opinions on this and other issues in the brave new world of content delivery.

New Zealand Times
09:50

BREAK

Stretch your legs, take a quick trip to the kitchen or the bathroom (wash your hands!) and settle back in for the morning’s final session.

New Zealand Times
09:55
International Times

07:55 AEDT
05:55 CST
21:55 UTC (-1)
17:55 ECT (-1)
14:55 PDT (-1)

FESTIVAL FEVER

Thom Powers (US), TIFF/ DOC NYC

If we listed every festival and organisation Thom is involved with, he’d have no time left to speak. So let’s just say DOC NYC, TIFF and CPH:DOX.

The man is a machine, a very sharp dresser, and an absolute goldmine of information. Enjoy and take notes.

New Zealand Times
10:40

BREAK

Stretch your legs, take a quick trip to the kitchen or the bathroom (wash your hands!) and settle back in for the morning’s final session.

New Zealand Times
10:45
International Times

08:45 AEDT
06:45 CST
00:45 CET
23:45 BST (-1)
18:45 ECT (-1)
15:45 PDT (-1)

FOLLOW THE MONEY

Matthew Metcalfe (NZ), Producer, Capital in the 21st Century, Born Racer, McLaren
Violet Du Feng (US), Producer of Confucian Dream
Moderator: Donovan Chan (SG), Beach House Pictures

Learn from some very smart producers about what they think will fly in 2020 and 2021 – and how they plan to pilot those ideas through some pretty stormy weather.

New Zealand Times
11:45 NZ

CLOSE

Three days down, one to go, but we’re ending with a double dose. Two sets of sessions await.

New Zealand Times
09:00
International Times

07:00 AEDT
05:00 CST
21:00 UTC (-1)
17:00 ECT (-1)
14:00 PDT (-1)

WELCOME

A quick bit of housekeeping to start the day. Take your seats and settle in for three fabulous sessions.

New Zealand Times
09:05
International Times

07:05 AEDT
05:05 CST
21:05 UTC (-1)
17:05 ECT (-1)
14:05 PDT (-1)

BUDDY, CAN YOU SPARE A DIME?

Heidi Tao Yang (CA), Hot Docs
John Barnett (NZ), Producer
Justin Deimen (SG), Aurora Media
Host: Stefan Kloos (DE), Rise and Shine World Sales

With predictions of economies around the world contracting, shrinking collapsing, going down the gurgler, and taking years to claw their way back to where they were six months ago, let’s talk money.

What might “recession-proof” look like for film, TV and streaming platforms?

New Zealand Times
09:50

BREAK

Stretch your legs, take a quick trip to the kitchen or the bathroom (wash your hands!) and settle back in for the morning’s final session.

New Zealand Times
09:55
International Times

07:55 AEDT
05:55 CST
21:55 UTC (-1)
17:55 ECT (-1)
14:55 PDT (-1)

WRECKING BALL

Anna Currie (NZ), NZ On Air
Bernadine Lim (AU), Screen Australia
Vikram Channa (CH), NZFC

Host: Pnina Halfon Lang (IL), CoPro

Last year we were told we were at peak content – there was so much to choose from in so many places even Methuselah wouldn’t have time to watch it all.

Now broadcasters claim there’s no new content and they’ll have to screen more repeats.

What opportunities are emerging from the rubble, and what will get put out to pasture?

New Zealand Times
10:40

BREAK

Stretch your legs, take a quick trip to the kitchen or the bathroom (wash your hands!) and settle back in for the morning’s final session.

New Zealand Times
10:45
International Times

08:45 AEDT
06:45 CST
00:45 CET
23:45 BST (-1)
18:45 ECT (-1)
15:45 PDT (-1)

IN CONVERSATION

Mohammed Ali Naqvi (PK), Director, The Accused: Damned or Devoted?

Host: Mandy Chang (UK), BBC Storyville

Meet the bravest man in filmmaking, Mohammed Naqvi, director of The Accused: Damned or Devoted, Insha’Allah Democracy and Among the Believers.

In his own words, “Some people are very intolerant.”

New Zealand Times
11:45 NZ

LUNCH / DINNER / SLEEP / BREAKFAST

We’re on the home straight! Today’s a double dose to finish – two sets of sessions so we’ll BBS.

New Zealand Times
12:30
International Times

10:30 AEDT
08:30 CST
00:30 UTC
20:30 ECT (-1)
17:30 PDT (-1)

WELCOME

Mike Rehu

We’re excited to close out this year’s Doc Edge Forum with three sessions featuring voices not always heard as clearly as they should be.

New Zealand Times
12:45
International Times

10:45 AEDT
08:45 CST
00:45 UTC
20:45 ECT (-1)
17:45 PDT (-1)

KIA MAU KI TŌ ŪKAIPŌ / DON’T FORGET YOUR ROOTS

Manukaroa Anderson (NZ)
Mia Henry-Teirney (NZ)
Bailey Mackey (NZ)
Anusha Duray (AU)

New Zealand Times
13:30

BREAK

Stretch your legs, take a quick trip to the kitchen or the bathroom (wash your hands!) and settle back in for the afternoon.

New Zealand Times
13:40
International Times

11:40 AEDT
09:40 CST
01:40 UTC
21:40 ECT (-1)
18:40 PDT (-1)

TURANGAWAEWAE / A PLACE TO STAND

Panel members TBA
Host: Mike Rehu

Authenticity: who has the right to tell your story, and what are the rules of engagement?

New Zealand Times
14:20

BREAK

Stretch your legs, take a quick trip to the kitchen or the bathroom (wash your hands!) and settle back in for the afternoon’s final session.

New Zealand Times
14:25
International Times

12:25 AEDT
10:25 CST
02:25 UTC
22:25 ECT (-1)
19:25 PDT (-1)

CLOSING KEYNOTE

Roger Ross Williams (US), Filmmaker & Governor and Chair of the Documentary Branch at the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences

The first African-American director to win an Oscar, Roger Ross Williams now chairs the Academy’s Documentary branch. Who could be better to close out the 2020 edition of Doc Edge Forum?

New Zealand Times
15:10

CLOSE

Alex Lee, Doc Edge
Dan Shanan, Doc Edge

It’s been a blast, and the drinks are now on us – virtually speaking.

Thanks for being with us at our first Doc Edge Forum Online

Doc Edge Industry programmes are presented by
RNZ
and generously supported by,
Department of Post, NZ Film Commission, NZ On Air, Screenrights and University of Auckland.