INFORMATION, INSPIRATION AND COLLABORATION

Doc Edge Forum is an annual industry conference that brings together local and international film, television and interactive media professionals, practitioners and stakeholders. The Forum offers a curated selection of seminars, panel discussions, masterclasses and networking opportunities.

The 2021 Doc Edge Forum ran Thursday 27 (Doc Engage) and Friday 28 – Monday 31 May (Forum).

The programme is below. See this page for info on our guests.

If you’d like to download a pdf of the 2021 programme, please click the image below.

New Zealand Times
09:00
International Times

07:00 AEDT
05:00 CST
21:00 UTC (-1)
17:00 ECT (-1)
14:00 PDT (-1)

DOC ENGAGE

A day of 1-2-1 Meetings between selected guests and Forum attendees. The day will run 3 sessions of up to 3 hours, starting at 9AM, 3PM, 9PM, all times NZ.

Check out the times in your neck of the woods here.

See more info about Doc Engage here.

Arthur Struyf, Doc Edge

Keith Barclay, Doc Edge

New Zealand Times
09:15
International Times

07:15 AEDT
05:15 CST
21:15 UTC (-1)
17:15 ECT (-1)
14:15 PDT (-1)

WELCOME

Doc Edge directors Dan Shanan and Alex Lee

New Zealand Times
09:30
International Times

07:30 AEDT
05:30 CST
21:30 UTC (-1)
17:30 ECT (-1)
14:30 PDT (-1)

GO YOUR OWN WAY

For the last three years, the EP of the on-air Ru Paul’s Drag Race Down Under has won Primetime Emmys and Producers Guild of America awards for Ru Paul’s Drag Race.

Hear him in conversation on crafting, packaging and placing successful shows that – on debut at least – are not traditional mainstream or primetime fare.

Fenton Bailey

New Zealand Times
10:30
International Times

08:30 AEDT
06:30 CST
22:30 UTC (-1)
18:30 ECT (-1)
15:30 PDT (-1)

THIS IS ME

Conversations with emerging creators of documentary and factual content on their travels so far and the roads ahead.

Facilitator:
Morgan Leigh Stewart

With
Antony Young
Jenny Gao
Todd Karehana

New Zealand Times
11:30
International Times

09:30 AEDT
07:30 CST
23:30 UTC (-1)
19:30 ECT (-1)
16:30 PDT (-1)

WET WET WET

Join the director and subject of The Sea Decides, to hear how they made and shot a 12,000km human-powered journey from Singapore to New Zealand.

Facilitator Matthew Donaldson

With
Alistair Harding
Grant Rawlinson

New Zealand Times
12:30
International Times

10:30 AEDT
08:30 CST
00:30 UTC
20:30 ECT (-1)
17:30 PDT (-1)

End of morning sessions

New Zealand Times
14:00
International Times

12: 00 AEDT
10: 00 CST
02: 00 UTC
22: 00 ECT (-1)
19: 00  PDT (-1)

 

COPRODUCTION

Not for the faint-hearted, international coproductions are an increasingly important option for putting in place the finance required to support high-quality productions.

With:
Chris Payne, NZ Film Commission
Michel Pradier, Telefilm Canada’s
Mladen Ivancic, NZ Film Commission
Sonya Pemberton, filmmaker
Vikram Dasgupta, filmmaker

New Zealand Times
15:30
International Times

13:30 AEDT
11:30 CST
03:30 UTC
23:30 ECT (-1)
20:30 PDT (-1)

BEYOND REALITY: XR

Hear from experts on the growth, applications and boundaries being broken in the places beyond 2D.

Facilitated by Miriam Ross

With:
Areito Echevarria
Raqi Syed
Zane Egginton

New Zealand Times
17:00
International Times

15:00 AEDT
13:00 CST
05:00 UTC
01:00 ECT
22:00 PDT (-1)

End of Day

New Zealand Times
09:30
International Times

07:30 AEDT
05:30 CST
21:30 UTC (-1)
17:30 ECT (-1)
14:30 PDT (-1)

JUST THE FACTS

“Science-based” has become a political football over the last 15 months. Join our panel as they share some of the hows and whys of engaging audiences with material that’s often not easily understood.

With
Hilla Medalia
Max Lugavere
Paul Trotman

New Zealand Times
10:30
International Times

08:30 AEDT
06:30 CST
22:30 UTC (-1)
18:30 ECT (-1)
15:30 PDT (-1)

HAT-TRICK

Over the last decade there’s been considerable growth in the number of sales agents coming on board projects as Executive Producers.

This panel explores the pros and cons for all involved.

Facilitated by Michael Favelle, Odin’s Eye Entertainment

Panel includes
Daniel Cross, EyeSteelFilm
Marc Smolowitz, 13th Gen

New Zealand Times
11:30
International Times

09:30 AEDT
07:30 CST
23:30 UTC (-1)
19:30 ECT (-1)
16:30 PDT (-1)

IN THE MIRROR

Three filmmakers who are the subjects of their own films talk about the pros, cons and lines they have to walk between directing and starring their own stories.

Facilitated by Alex Reed

With:
Ann Shin (A.rtificial I.mmortality)
Judith Helfand (Love & Stuff)
Sol Guy (The Death of My Two Fathers)

All three films play in Doc Edge 2021. See docedge.nz for screening information.

New Zealand Times
12:30
International Times

10:30 AEDT
08:30 CST
00:30 UTC
20:30 ECT (-1)
17:30 PDT (-1)

End of morning sessions

New Zealand Times
14:00
International Times

12: 00 AEDT
10: 00 CST
02: 00 UTC
22: 00 ECT (-1)
19: 00  PDT (-1)

 

ON THE MONEY

Documentary can be a hard genre in which to balance the books. Hear from a chartered accountant and production accountant on (legal!) ways to give yourself, your project or your company a better chance of staying in the black.

With:

Cameron McGregor
Jill Soper
Paula Jensen

New Zealand Times
15:30
International Times

13:30 AEDT
11:30 CST
03:30 UTC
23:30 ECT (-1)
20:30 PDT (-1)

WEB DOCS

Join four creators of online factual content to learn about some of the opportunities of the online space vs traditional broadcast.

Facilitated by Keith Barclay

With
Amber Easby
Kent Briggs
Magnolia Lowe
Vidad Narayan

New Zealand Times
17:00
International Times

15:00 AEDT
13:00 CST
05:00 UTC
01:00 ECT
22:00 PDT (-1)

End of Day

New Zealand Times
09:30
International Times

07:30 AEDT
05:30 CST
21:30 UTC (-1)
17:30 ECT (-1)
14:30 PDT (-1)

RISE OF THE MACHINES

Our panel discusses the opportunities and challenges of remote production, remote post, and online exhibition, with people whose job it’s been to make it all happen during the last year.

With:
Fraser Brown, FluroBlack
Leela Menon, FluroBlack
Kelsey Wood, SetStream
Todd Harper, Shift72
Yung Chang, filmmaker, Wuhan Wuhan

New Zealand Times
10:30
International Times

08:30 AEDT
06:30 CST
22:30 UTC (-1)
18:30 ECT (-1)
15:30 PDT (-1)

GET RHYTHM

During the last decade, 3 music films won the Academy’s Documentary Feature award over 5 years. This session addresses their enduring appeal, and the art and craft of making a successful music doco.

Facilitated by Paul McLaney

With:
Cody Greenwood, producer, Under the Volcano
Julia Parnell, director and producer, SIX60: Till the Lights Go Out, The Triumph and Tragedy of Martin Phillipps, Anthems
Karl Steven, composer, Come To Daddy, Resolve, The Casketeers
Sam Zubrycki, filmmaker, Miguelito

 

Under the Volcano plays in Doc Edge 2021. See docedge.nz for screening information.

New Zealand Times
11:30
International Times

09:30 AEDT
07:30 CST
23:30 UTC (-1)
19:30 ECT (-1)
16:30 PDT (-1)

LAURA’S CHOICE

Join mother and daughter filmmakers, Cathy and Sam, as they navigate the process of supporting Cathy’s mother and Sam’s grandmother in her decision to end her life – and make a film about it.

Laura’s Choice will screen in Doc Edge Festival 2021.

Cathy Henkel
Sam Lara

in conversation with
Leanne Pooley

 

Laura’s Choice plays in Doc Edge 2021. See docedge.nz for screening information.

New Zealand Times
12:30
International Times

10:30 AEDT
08:30 CST
00:30 UTC
20:30 ECT (-1)
17:30 PDT (-1)

End of morning sessions

New Zealand Times
14:00
International Times

12: 00 AEDT
10: 00 CST
02: 00 UTC
22: 00 ECT (-1)
19: 00  PDT (-1)

 

IN CONVERSATION

Take two Canadians

Canadian filmmaker, Francine Zuckerman, who’s spent a good part of the pandemic holed up in NZ, in conversation with fellow Canadian expat, director and cinematographer Tom Burstyn.

New Zealand Times
15:30
International Times

13:30 AEDT
11:30 CST
03:30 UTC
23:30 ECT (-1)
20:30 PDT (-1)

SHOT GLASS

The cinematographers of two Doc Edge 2021 titles talk about the artistic, practical, and technical thought processes and decisions behind making a good shot a great one.

Facilitated by Tom Burstyn

With
Niva Kay and Phil Stebbing (High Tide Don’t Hide)
Aleksei Abib and Carolina Telles (You Are Not a Soldier)

New Zealand Times
17:00
International Times

15:00 AEDT
13:00 CST
05:00 UTC
01:00 ECT
22:00 PDT (-1)

End of Day

New Zealand Times
09:30
International Times

07:30 AEDT
05:30 CST
21:30 UTC (-1)
17:30 ECT (-1)
14:30 PDT (-1)

MAKING CHANGE

Issue-driven docos have long been part of campaigns to create change. Hear from the founder of Story Matters, the director of Doc Edge 2021 title The Gig Is Up., and the impact producers of The Girl on the Bridge and Doc Edge 2021 title Try Harder.

Facilitated by
Alex Lee, Doc Edge

With
Patricia Finneran, Story Matters
Shannon Walsh, The Gig is Up
Tamar Münch, impact producer, Leanne Pooley’s The Girl on the Bridge
Tiffany Shan, impact producer, Debbie Lum’s Try Harder

 

 

The Gig is Up plays in Doc Edge Festival. See docedge.nz for screening information.

New Zealand Times
10:30
International Times

08:30 AEDT
06:30 CST
22:30 UTC (-1)
18:30 ECT (-1)
15:30 PDT (-1)

DIGGING DEEP

Meet some filmmakers whose latest feature docos have strong archival elements to their stories.

With
Judith Ehrlich (The Boys Who Said No)
Sally Aitken (Playing With Sharks)
Ursula Liang (Down A Dark Stairwell)

All three films play in Doc Edge Festival. See docedge.nz for screening information.

New Zealand Times
11:30
International Times

09:30 AEDT
07:30 CST
23:30 UTC (-1)
19:30 ECT (-1)
16:30 PDT (-1)

INCLUSION

Meet some of the finest local and international creators of content about, by, for and with people who aren’t considered ‘mainstream’.

Facilitated by Dan Buckingham, Attitude

With
Kirsty Griffin, Bella Pacific Media
Naomi Ball, producer
Dan Salmon, Octopus Pictures

New Zealand Times
12:30
International Times

10:30 AEDT
08:30 CST
00:30 UTC
20:30 ECT (-1)
17:30 PDT (-1)

FESTIVAL ROUNDTABLE 1

Meet festival directors and programmers.

Learn what they’re looking for, and the when, where, and how of catching their programming teams’ attention.

With:
David Wilson, True/False (USA)
Du Hai Bin, West Lake International Documentary Festival (China)
Jinseok Kang, DMZ Docs (Korea)
Kate Jinx, Melbourne IFF (Australia)
Mareva Leu, FIFO (Tahiti)
Shane Smith, Hot Docs (Canada)

New Zealand Times
14:00
International Times
12:00 AEDT
10:00 CST
02:00 UTC
22:00 ECT (-1)
19:00 PDT (-1)

KEYNOTE

Hear from the 2021 Doc Edge Superhero

Address:
Heather Croall

Facilitated by Doc Edge Directors Alex Lee and Dan Shanan

New Zealand Times
15:00
International Times
13:00 AEDT
11:00 CST
03:00 UTC
23:00 ECT (-1)
20:00 PDT (-1)

End of Afternoon

New Zealand Times
20:00
International Times
18:00 AEDT
16:00 CST
08:00 UTC
04:00 ECT
01:00 PDT

FESTIVAL ROUNDTABLE 2

Meet festival directors and programmers.

Learn what they’re looking for, and the when, where, and how of catching their programming teams’ attention.

With:
Angeliki Petrou, Thessaloniki Documentary Festival (Greece)
Christine Camdessus, FIPADOC (France)
Cintia Gil, Sheffield Doc|Fest (England)
Francesco Bizzarri, Visioni dal Mondo (Italy)
Frank Moens, DocVille (Belgium)
Karin Rywkind Segal, Docaviv (Israel)
Kati Juurus, Docpoint (Finland)
Katrine Kiilgaard, CPH:DOX (Denmark)
Lina Dinkla, Dok Leipzig (Germany)
Raul Niño Zambrano, IDFA (Netherlands)
Rohan Crickmar, Edinburgh International Film Festival (Scotland)

New Zealand Times
22:00
International Times
20:00 AEDT
17:00 CST
09:00 UTC
05:00 ECT
02:00 PDT

End of Doc Edge Forum 2021.
Au revoir!

Thanks to our Industry Programme Partners

           

           

 

Follow Doc Edge Industry
social channels