Forum

An industry conference of seminars, panel discussions, masterclasses and networking opportunities.

Doc Edge Forum is an annual industry conference that brings together local and international film, television and interactive media professionals, practitioners and stakeholders. The Forum offers a curated selection of seminars, panel discussions, masterclasses and networking opportunities. It also incorporates Doc Edge Pitch, a documentary pitching forum for shorts, features and television series.

The 2020 Forum, including Doc Edge Pitch and Date-a-Doco, will be presented online. More guest information will be announced as we get closer to the events.

DAY ONE:
FRIDAY 29 MAY

09:00 NZ
07:00 AEDT
05:00 CST
21:00 UTC (-1)
17:00 ECT (-1)
14:00 PDT (-1)

WELCOME

Alex Lee
Dan Shanan

Doc Edge Directors Alex and Dan welcome you to this year’s Doc Edge Forum Online.

09:20 NZ
07:20 AEDT
05:20 CST
21:20 UTC (-1)
17:20 ECT (-1)
14:20 PDT (-1)

STATE OF THE NATION

Annabelle Sheehan
Cameron Harland

Host: Kay Ellmers

When we finished listening to Annabelle Sheehan and Amie Mills in this session last year, we immediately added it to this year’s programme. We thought it would be great to follow-up on some of the issues raised.

For obvious reasons, a lot of those issues are now moot, or at least not at the top of the agenda. Annabelle and Cameron Harland now stand in a very different media landscape, and will share their views on how we might advance through it.

10:20 NZ
08:20 AEDT
06:20 CST
22:20 UTC (-1)
18:20 ECT (-1)
15:20 PDT (-1)

BREAK

Stretch your legs, take a quick trip to the kitchen or the bathroom (wash your hands!) and settle back in for the morning’s final session.

10:30 NZ
08:30 AEDT
06:30 CST
22:30 UTC (-1)
18:30 ECT (-1)
15:30 PDT (-1)

ATTENTION SEEKERS

Panel members will be announced shortly.

At a time when the C-word dominates almost every conversation and news report, getting attention has become a much more difficult task.

Hear from three impact producers about the strategies and tactics they’re employing to achieve cut-through and drive activity and action in 2020.

11:30 NZ
09:30 AEDT
04:30 CST
23:30 UTC (-1)
19:30 ECT (-1)
16:30 PDT (-1)

CLOSE

One day down, three more to go. See you shortly in our Zoom Lounge, or same time tomorrow.

DAY TWO:
SATURDAY 30 MAY

09:00 NZ
07:00 AEDT
05:00 CST
21:00 UTC (-1)
17:00 ECT (-1)
14:00 PDT (-1)

WELCOME

A quick bit of housekeeping to start the day. Take your seats and settle in for three fabulous sessions.

09:05 NZ
07:05 AEDT
05:05 CST
21:05 UTC (-1)
17:05 ECT (-1)
14:05 PDT (-1)

FOR YOUR CONSIDERATION

Tom Oyer, Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences

Host: Kay Ellmers, RNZ

At the top of the awards heap and the closing event of awards season, the Academy Awards are as good as it gets for peer recognition.

Tom Oyer manages the Academy’s short film and documentary award categories.

Enjoy what he has to say and then ask him questions.

09:50 NZ
07:50 AEDT
05:50 CST
21:50 UTC (-1)
17:50 ECT (-1)
14:50 PDT (-1)

BREAK

Stretch your legs, take a quick trip to the kitchen or the bathroom (wash your hands!) and settle back in for the morning’s final session.

09:55 NZ
07:55 AEDT
05:55 CST
21:55 UTC (-1)
17:55 ECT (-1)
14:55 PDT (-1)

WELL-BEING

Yonatin Nir, Filmmaker, Picture of His Life

More panel members and host tba

There are many ways to be well – financially, legally, physically and mentally among them.

Grab some smarts from our panel of experts as they share some of the must-haves and must-nots of ending the day in just as good shape as you started it.

10:55 NZ
08:55 AEDT
06:55 CST
22:55 UTC (-1)
18:55 ECT (-1)
15:55 PDT (-1)

BREAK

Stretch your legs, take a quick trip to the kitchen or the bathroom (wash your hands!) and settle back in for the morning’s final session.

11:00 NZ
09:00 AEDT
07:00 CST
23:00 UTC (-1)
19:00 ECT (-1)
16:00 PDT (-1)

SMALL IS GOOD

Naashon Zalk, Filmmaker

One day down, three more to go. See you shortly in our Zoom Lounge, or same time tomorrow.

11:45 NZ
09:45 AEDT
07:45 CST
23:45 UTC(-1)
19:45 ECT (-1)
16:45 PDT (-1)

CLOSE

The ups and downs, ins and out, and pros and cons of being as light on your feet as it gets in production.

Award-winning documentary director and cinematographer Naashon Zalk talks how to create high-quality content when your phone is your camera.

DAY THREE:
SUNDAY 31 MAY

09:00 NZ
07:00 AEDT
05:00 CST
21:00 UTC (-1)
17:00 ECT (-1)
14:00 PDT (-1)

WELCOME

Housekeeping, coffee, take your seats and settle in for three fabulous sessions.

09:05 NZ
07:05 AEDT
05:05 CST
21:05 UTC (-1)
17:05 ECT (-1)
14:05 PDT (-1)

EYES ON STALKS
OR BUMS ON SEATS?

Panel members will be announced shortly.

We’re all expected to embrace disruption, but who actually loved Universal’s announcement it would put out all its new releases day and date when we can go back to the cinema?

Our panel shares its opinions on this and other issues in the brave new world of content delivery.

09:50 NZ
07:50 AEDT
05:50 CST
21:50 UTC (-1)
17:50 ECT (-1)
14:50 PDT (-1)

BREAK

Stretch your legs, take a quick trip to the kitchen or the bathroom (wash your hands!) and settle back in for the morning’s final session.

09:55 NZ
07:55 AEDT
05:55 CST
21:55 UTC (-1)
17:55 ECT (-1)
14:55 PDT (-1)

FESTIVAL FEVER

Thom Powers, Festival Director, Programmer, Lecturer, Artistic Director… 

Host tba

If we listed every festival and organisation Thom is involved with, he’d have no time left to speak. So let’s just say DOC NYC, TIFF and Sundance.

The man is a machine, a very sharp dresser, and an absolute goldmine of information. Enjoy and take notes.

10:40 NZ
08:40 AEDT
06:40 CST
22:40 UTC (-1)
18:40 ECT (-1)
15:40 PDT (-1)

BREAK

Stretch your legs, take a quick trip to the kitchen or the bathroom (wash your hands!) and settle back in for the morning’s final session.

10:45 NZ
08:45 AEDT
06:45 CST
00:45 CET
23:45 BST (-1)
18:45 ECT (-1)
15:45 PDT (-1)

FOLLOW THE MONEY

Matthew Metcalfe, producer, Capital in the 21st Century, Born Racer, McLaren 
More panel members tba

Moderator: Donovan Chan, Beachhouse Pictures

Learn from some very smart producers about what they think will fly in 2020 and 2021 – and how they plan to pilot those ideas through some pretty stormy weather.

11:45 NZ
09:45 AEDT
04:45 CST
01:45 CET
00:45 BST
19:45 ECT (-1)
16:45 PDT (-1)

CLOSE

Three days down, one to go, but we’re ending with a double dose. Two sets of sessions await.

DAY FOUR, PART 1:
MONDAY 1 JUNE

09:00 NZ
07:00 AEDT
05:00 CST
21:00 UTC (-1)
17:00 ECT (-1)
14:00 PDT (-1)

WELCOME

A quick bit of housekeeping to start the day. Take your seats and settle in for three fabulous sessions.

09:05 NZ
07:05 AEDT
05:05 CST
21:05 UTC (-1)
17:05 ECT (-1)
14:05 PDT (-1)

BUDDY, CAN YOU SPARE A DIME?

Panel tba

With predictions of economies around the world contracting, shrinking collapsing, going down the gurgler, and taking years to claw their way back to where they were six months ago, let’s talk money.

What might “recession-proof” look like for film, TV and streaming platforms?

09:50 NZ
07:50 AEDT
05:50 CST
21:50 UTC (-1)
17:50 ECT (-1)
14:50 PDT (-1)

BREAK

Stretch your legs, take a quick trip to the kitchen or the bathroom (wash your hands!) and settle back in for the morning’s final session.

09:55 NZ
07:55 AEDT
05:55 CST
21:55 UTC (-1)
17:55 ECT (-1)
14:55 PDT (-1)

WRECKING BALL

Anna Currie, NZ On Air
Bernandine Lim, Screen Australia
Leanne Saunders, NZFC

Moderator tba

Last year we were told we were at peak content – there was so much to choose from in so many places even Methuselah wouldn’t have time to watch it all.

Now broadcasters claim there’s no new content and they’ll have to screen more repeats.

What opportunities are emerging from the rubble, and what will get put out to pasture?

10:40 NZ
08:40 AEDT
06:40 CST
22:40 UTC (-1)
18:40 ECT (-1)
15:40 PDT (-1)

BREAK

Stretch your legs, take a quick trip to the kitchen or the bathroom (wash your hands!) and settle back in for the morning’s final session.

10:45 NZ
08:45 AEDT
06:45 CST
22:45 UTC (-1)
18:45 ECT (-1)
15:45 PDT (-1)

IN CONVERSATION

Mohammed Ali Naqvi, director, The Accused: Damned or Devoted?

Meet the bravest man in filmmaking, Mohammed Naqvi, director of The Accused: Damned or Devoted, Insha’Allah Democracy and Among the Believers.

In his own words, “Some people are very intolerant.”

11:40 NZ
09:40 AEDT
04:40 CST
23:40 UTC (-1)
19:40 ECT (-1)
16:40 PDT (-1)

LUNCH / DINNER / SLEEP / BREAKFAST

But wait! There’s more!

Revive, refresh, refuel. and join us for the final session of Doc Edge Forum 2020.

DAY FOUR, PART 2:
MONDAY 1 JUNE

13:30 NZ
11:30 AEDT
09:30 CST
01:30 UTC
21:30 ECT (-1)
18:30 PDT (-1)

WELCOME

We’re excited to close out this year’s Doc Edge Forum with three sessions on indigenous content and creators.

13:45 NZ
11:45 AEDT
09:45 CST
01:45 UTC
21:45 ECT (-1)
18:45 PDT (-1)

WHAT’S A DOLLAR WORTH?

How do cultural expectations, mates’ rates, aroha, koha and the commitment to whānau produce better, more authentic content?

14:30 NZ
14:30 AEDT
10:30 CST
02:30 UTC
22:30 ECT (-1)
19:30 PDT (-1)

BREAK

Stretch your legs, take a quick trip to the kitchen or the bathroom (wash your hands!) and settle back in for the morning’s final session.

14:35 NZ
12:35 AEDT
08:35 CST
14:35 UTC
22:35 ECT (-1)
19:35 PDT (-1)

SMALL IS GOOD

Anusha Duray, Acquisitions Manager, NITV

More panel members tba

Moderator tba

Covid-19 is rewriting all manner of rules without respect for age, sex, creed or colour, creating mayhem and opportunity.

What are some that have particular relevance for indigenous content creators?

15:20 NZ
13:20 AEDT
09:20 CST
13:20 UTC (-1)
21:20 ECT (-1)
20:20 PDT (-1)

BREAK

Stretch your legs, take a quick trip to the kitchen or the bathroom (wash your hands!) and settle back in for the morning’s final session.

15:25 NZ
13:25 AEDT
11:25 CST
03:25 UTC
23:25 ECT (-1)
20:25 PDT (-1)

KEEP THE FAITH

Panel tba

How to not lose sight of everything else that’s important when the world is only looking at one thing.

16:10 NZ
14:10 AEDT
12:10 CST
04:10 UTC
00:10 ECT
21:10 PDT (-1)

CLOSE

Alex Lee
Dan Shanan

It’s been a blast, and the drinks are now on us – virtually speaking.

Thanks for being with us at our first Doc Edge Forum Online

 
Doc Edge industry programmes are presented by
RNZ
and generously supported by
Department of Post, NZ Film Commission, NZ On Air, Screenrights and University of Auckland
Follow Doc Edge Industry social channels